Buhari swears in INEC Chairman, MAHMOOD Yakubu


President Muhammadu Buhariwhile charining the 27th virtual Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa Abuja called for a minute of silence to be observed in honour of former military officer, late Gen. Domkat Bali, who served the country as Minister of Defence.

Physically present at The swearing in of Professor Mahmood Yakubu as Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is

Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chief of Staff, Ibrahim Gambari, National Security Adviser, Major General Babagana Munguno (retd).

Eleven ministers are physically attending the meeting. They are Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, Works and Housing, Babtunde Fashola, Aviation, Hadi Sirika, Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Sadiya Umar Farouk, and Federal Capital Territory, Mohammed Bello.

Others are Ministers of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, Budget and National Planning, Clement Agba, Mines and Steel Development, Uche Ogah and Abubakar Aliyu.

The Head of Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan and other ministers are participating in the weekly council meeting from their various offices in Abuja.

Buhari reappointed Yakubu as Chairman of INEC) for another five-year term on October 27th.

He is the first chair to be reappointed to head the commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here